Skip to content

Child’s Play Continued: The Game Within the Game by Anthony Scorcia and Sara Dickson, PGA

June 20, 2011

I’d like to thank Anythony Scorcia of  On Par with Anthony Scorcia for the opportunity to participate in this continuation of our first article.  To connect with Anthony, visit his website or follow him on Twitter.

Child’s Play Continued:  The Game Within the Game

In our recent collaboration, Sara and I talked about child’s play and how it can benefit your golf game. We talked about how my 2 ½ year old son was playing basketball and how he was playing with the idea of getting the ball in the hoop—short, long, right, left, and then nothing but net. Now, it was time to put my money where my mouth is if need be and being the golfer I am, the need would indeed be.

In the middle of my round last week, a duck hook decided to show up—two consecutive tee shots had me struggling for par. In my golfing life, this has never been my miss off the tee; but it has been this year for some reason. Since it’s not my normal miss, I didn’t have a lot of past experience to fall back on to help with how to correct it in the middle of the round. The next hole was a par-3, so I was spared, but the thought of the next drive loomed in the back of my mind.

I’m a feel player, so I rarely, if ever, think of club position. So on the next tee box I stared into the abyss and thought let’s play. What I was doing wasn’t working so I thought let’s hit a cut shot. I didn’t change anything about my setup as my goal was not to not hit a cut. My goal was to get back on plane and my body in sync in a functional way.  I will leave the technical aspects of how the correction occurred to Sara, but the results of which were dead straight drives down the fairway. In fact, I didn’t miss a fairway for the rest of the round. On every tee box, I just said, “hit a cut” and let my body do the rest.

Instructor’s Response:

What Anthony displayed here is an example for all golfers, and people in fact.   We have all heard the definition of insanity; doing the same thing over and over while expecting different results.  Through personal experience, I feel many golfers (myself included) have spent time working on a certain move or concept in the golf swing that ideally would produce a certain result.  Even when the result we achieve is not what we ideally would like, we continue with the same concept, expecting the correct result to show up when we “get it.” While this may very well be true once we “get it”, if we are not getting the results we want, we must clearly think and do something differently (as Anthony did to stop his hook) in order to get our desired result.  Yet, this seems to be a very challenging idea for not only golfers, but people in general.  Maybe it is because change means something unknown (but different) could actually occur!

I read something a few years ago that stuck with me ever since where Chuck Evans said, “Change the picture then the motion and result will change.”  All action is a result of our picture (or thought).  Therefore, to change the motion and results, we must change our picture.  Anthony changed his picture on the tee when he said, “hit a cut”. 

Perhaps this is for another discussion all-together (as I recall various lengthy conversations with my Professional Golf Management teaching class back at Methodist University regarding this topic) but I would actually challenge the idea that feel players do not think of club position.  It always confused me as to how feel players are labeled as golfers who do not think about the swing, rather they feel it.  How would golfers know what to feel unless they knew what it was they were trying to feel?  To use a phrase from The Golfing Machine, I believe feel comes from mechanics, not the other way around.  A teacher cannot teach feel, but a teacher can teach mechanics that lead a player to get the “feel.”

In Anthony’s case, he admitted he did not have a lot of experience correcting a hook.  However, Anthony did know the ball flight of a fade would be quite the opposite of a hook.  Therefore, Anthony must have also understood the club must be doing something quite the opposite at impact to produce the fade.  Whether he recognized it or not, Anthony understood the picture of what the club must do to produce a cut.  Then, he was able to picture his cut and let it fly.

Lesson:  When we want to do something differently, figure out a different picture.  When things are going well and we want to keep doing the same thing (like Rory at the US Open!), stick with the same picture.  What’s your picture?

Thank you for stopping by to read this today.  If you feel this information is interesting, please feel free to share it using the social media buttons below.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 8:36 pm

    Great post Sara and Anthony – a great approach to playing the game of golf

    “Of course it don’t feel right! What felt right for you doesn’t work! You need to try some wrong!”

    ~ Excerpt from “The 40 Year Old Virgin”

  2. June 21, 2011 9:21 am

    Thank you, Ryan! Movie quote = so true! Talk soon.

  3. June 21, 2011 5:40 pm

    Very good read. The feeling of fighting a miss can be very daunting to most golfers. This was very well written and makes so much sense of how to positively change the vision of your shots on any given day. Thanks for sharing guys.

Leave a Reply

